How to do backward() for each outputs seperately

I am new to Pytorch so pardon if the question sounds stupid.
I am trying to do some sort of reinforcement learning similar to “http://karpathy.github.io/2016/05/31/rl/”.
An agent needs to choose either “up” or “down” based on the inputs. As mentioned in the link, uppon winning the game, I assign “1” and “0” as errors to “up” and “down”, respectively, otherwise, “0” and “-1”, and backpropagate the error.
The problem is, in all pytorch c++ examples, i just see that the mean or sum of the errors (loss) is backpropagated. So my question is, how can I backpropagate for each loss defined for each output item?

Hi,

You will need to run as many backwards as gradients you want unfortunately.
The nice thing with sum/avg is that since you want a single gradient, you can compute them at once.

That being said, if your network has some special structure, you might be able to use tricks like this one to do it: https://github.com/cybertronai/autograd-hacks

Can you help me to understand how repeating backwards would help? Assuming that I have the loss as either [1,0] or [0,-1], how can I use backwards() as it only works for a scalar loss? thanks

how can I backpropagate for each loss defined for each output item?

Simply call backward for each of them: output[i].backward(your_error) ?

as a minimal example, is this what you suggest?

struct Net : torch::nn::Module {
  Net() {
    fc1 = register_module("fc1", torch::nn::Linear(1, 3));
    fc2 = register_module("fc2", torch::nn::Linear(3, 4));
    fc3 = register_module("fc3", torch::nn::Linear(4, 2));
  }

// Implement the Net's algorithm.
  torch::Tensor forward(torch::Tensor x) {
    x = torch::sigmoid(fc1->forward(x));
    x = torch::dropout(x, /*p=*/0.5, /*train=*/is_training());
    x = torch::sigmoid(fc2->forward(x));
    x = torch::log_softmax(fc3->forward(x), /*dim=*/1);
    return x;
  }
int main(){
      auto net = std::make_shared<Net>();