How to load sequential data from separate datasets?

I want to create a dataset/dataloader setup that simply yields one batch from one of multiple datasets at a time, sequentially.

I’m new to ML, but this seems like a fairly common task for multiple time series prediction. I have multiple time series’ of the exact same structure and I want to train one model for all of them. For that it is important that the model always receives a sequence of data from one time series at a time, without overlapping them. All approaches I found would ultimately just concatenate them, which is not what I want.

If I have, for example, three datasets of length 10, 20 and 30, and a batch size of 15, then I’d expect my batches to be of length 10, 15, 5, 15, 15.

Any news on this? Having trouble finding information on the same problem :confused: Im also trying to create a Dataset from several time series arrays of varying length.

I can’t post my code, but I ended up creating a dataset inheriting from the PyTorch dataset myself, which was easier than I thought. It takes all original datasets and generates samples through slicing when requested by the dataloader.

The original question was not really accurate in hindsight though, as it doesn’t use the term batch size correctly. Batches are generated automatically by the dataloader according to its settings. The custom dataset just needs to yield individual sequences of appropriate standardized shapes (e.g. sequence length 15 if one wants 15 time steps in one sequence for time series prediction) across all sets.

Thank you for your reply! I have been trying to do that too, but from what you said the solution probably lies within the slicing in my custom Dataset. Can you maybe post or send me only your getitem func if thats possible for you. I am new to this forum and dont know how to exchange contact data :smile: