How to move all tensors to cuda?

I am kind of new to PyTorch and training on GPU. When I define a model (a network) myself, I can move all tensor I define in the model to cuda using xx.to(device). However, if I want to use the model defined by others, for example, cloning from others’ github repo, I cannot modify the model.
In this case, if I just move the network to cuda, it won’t work. I wonder how I can move all tesnors they define in the model to cuda? :thinking:

Pytorch works with a recursive calling.

A nn.Module instance (aka, neural network/layer) is usually composed by other nn.Module instances.
once you have defined the main one (let’s call it model) you can move all the instances and subinstances (layers) inside that by doing model=model.cuda()

nn.Modules are composed of 2 main parts.
The init method in which you define the layers (which are also nn.Modules as I aforementioned) and the forward, which defines how those layers are used.

Following good practices, code shouldn’t hardcode allocation (whether cuda or cpu) in neither init or forward.
That means that, once you have a model, you can choose whether to process it using the cpu or cuda.

For the former case you have to do nothing (as tensors are defined as cpu tensors by default). For the latter you just need to allocate the model and inputs in cuda:
Pseudocode

model = model.cuda()
for batch in dataloader:
   output = model(batch.cuda())

Hi, thanks for the reply!

I try to do that and the same error still occurs.
“expected device cpu but got device cuda:0”.

I think the problem is that when they define some tensors in the main model or subinstances, they do not allocate the device. I wonder whether there is a way to move all those tensors to cuda.