How to normalize audio data in PyTorch?

I have many .mp3 audio recordings of people saying the same sentence. These people have different vocal ranges. So my question is:

In the data preprocessing stage, is it necessary to “normalize” the audio samples to be in one vocal range? If so, how would I go about doing this in PyTorch? I couldn’t find anything relevant in the documentation other than the method torchaudio.sox_effects.apply_effects_tensor(). But I don’t know how to use it properly. I am completely new to PyTorch. Any help would be great.

1 Like

Hi,
I am also a newbie in Pytorch, and I’ve been facing the same questions.
The best I could find is to apply a sequence of transforms while loading the data with my Dataset class, in this case EgfxDataset. Assuming that in your Dataset __init__ you have included the transforms:

class EgfxDataset(Dataset):
    """Egfx dataset
    Args:
        data_dir (str): Path to the data directory
        transforms (list): List of transforms to apply to the audio samples

Returns:
        torch.utils.data.Dataset: Dataset object containing tuples of dry and wet audio samples
    """
    def __init__(self,
                 data_dir,
                 transforms=None
                ):
        self.data_dir = Path(data_dir) / 'egfxset'
        self.transforms = transforms

You can define the transforms to reduce dynamic range, correct DC and peak normalize between -1.0 and +1.0:

def contrast (tensor):
    return torchaudio.functional.contrast(tensor, 50)

def correct_dc_offset(tensor):
    return tensor - torch.mean(tensor)

def peak_normalize(tensor):
    tensor /= torch.max(torch.abs(tensor))
    return tensor

# I create a list of the transforms I want to apply:
TRANSFORMS = [contrast, correct_dc_offset, peak_normalize]

# When you instanciate your Dataset:
dataset = EgfxDataset(data_dir=data_dir, transforms=TRANSFORMS)

If anyone has more tools to suggest or corrections to point out I am listening.
Thanks