How to pass separate features into LSTM

Hi, I am new to PyTorch (and machine learning in general) and wanted to check if what I’m doing makes any sense at all. I am attempting to predict race (Asian, Black, Hispanic, White) from first name, last name, and the racial distribution of the person’s zip code. These should be three separate features, the thought being that, e.g. last name might have more predictive power than first name. For example, a row of my data would be

("John", "Li", [0.10, 0.40, 0.20, 0.30])

Currently, my model is

class FirstLastZctaLSTM(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, input_size: int, hidden_size: int, output_size: int) -> None:
        super(FirstLastZctaLSTM, self).__init__()

self.hidden_size = hidden_size
        self.ltsm_cell = nn.LSTM(input_size, hidden_size)
        self.h2o = nn.Linear(hidden_size + 4, output_size)
        self.softmax = nn.LogSoftmax(dim=1)

def forward(
        self,
        name: torch.Tensor,
        pct: torch.Tensor,
        hidden: tuple[torch.Tensor, torch.Tensor],
    ):
        _, hidden = self.ltsm_cell(name.view(1, 1, -1), hidden)
        combined = torch.cat([hidden[0].squeeze(0), pct], dim=1)
        output = self.h2o(combined)
        output: torch.Tensor = self.softmax(output)

return output, hidden

def init_hidden(self):
        return (
            torch.zeros(1, 1, self.hidden_size, device=DEVICE),
        )

I use a character-level encoding

import string
VALID_NAME_CHARS = f"{string.ascii_lowercase} '-"
VALID_NAME_CHARS_DICT = {c: i for i, c in enumerate(VALID_NAME_CHARS)}
VALID_NAME_CHARS_LEN = len(VALID_NAME_CHARS)

def encode_name(
    name: str,
    valid_name_chars_dict: dict[str, int],
    valid_name_chars_len: int,
    device: torch.device,
) -> torch.Tensor:
    encoded = torch.zeros(len(name), 1, valid_name_chars_len, device=device)
    for idx, c in enumerate(name):
        encoded[idx][0][valid_name_chars_dict[c]] = 1

return encoded

Then I combine the encoded tensors like so: