How to reduce the memory requirement for a GPU pytorch training process? (finally solved by using multiple GPUs)

Hi,

I’m new to torch 0.4 and implement a Encoder-Decoder model for image segmentation.

during training to my lab server with 2 GPU cards only, I face the following problem say “out of memory”:

my input is 320*320 image and even I let batch_size = 1, it cannot finish even 1 epoch, I’m not sure whether there is some commands to use multiple GPU card?

Any suggestion is appreciated!

Thank you very much!

Best,
Peter

This is weird. To my understanding each iteration should be “separated”. Your task is clearly not recurrent and your batch is clearly not increasing nor decreasing. So, why then you can finish a few iterations before getting out of memory error?

Must there be some kind of memory leaking? Some codes sure help!

1 Like

Hi, Konapt, Thank you very much!

I resize my input batch as (32 , 3,64,64) and 128 by 128 both works well.

When I increase each image size to 224 by 224, 256 by 256… fails… it can hold ~20 epochs and tell my out of memory.

I head the term " memory leaking" but could you please give me some suggestions on these? Thank you very much. I’m not sure how to do it in pytorch and how to check it.

Best,
Peter

Actually, I need to see the code. Anyway, how did you get the “train_loss”, is it a kind of average? If you get the average by adding the “loss” up something like:

loss = ((y_hat - y) ** 2).mean()
sum_loss += loss
avg_loss = sum_loss / itr
print('train_loss', float(avg_loss))

Memory leaking comes from the sum_loss, since it will hold the graph for each iteration from the first iteration. Using .detach() should help in this case, but frankly you could just use float(loss) altogether.

4 Likes

Thank you Konapt,

you are a genius !!!

I really use sum_loss += loss indeed!

should I use sum_loss += float(loss) to solve this problem??

thank you !
Peter

Yeah it’ll work, go for it.