How to use torch.cuda.streams?

Q1:
In the pytorch,if we don’t use torch.cuda.streams explicitly,then pytorch only use one cuda stream(default cuda stream), am I right?

Q2:
I want to use multiple cuda stream,so different GPU tasks can be ran concurrently on a same GPU.I think this maybe improve the utilization rate of GPU.
Here is a cuda copy task “input_B.resize_(input_A.size()).copy_(input_A)”.input_B is torch.cuda.FloatTensor type,and input_A is torch.Tensor type.How to create a new cuda stream and put this cuda copy task to the new cuda stream?

Thanks a lot,and I only have one GPU in my computer.

2 Likes

torch.cuda.stream(your_stream) do what you want, I guess :wink:
And you can use multiprocess to launch the different process with different streams. Note that multiprocess with cuda is only suported in Python 3

Hi alexis-jacq. What is the argument we need to pass to torch.cuda.stream() ? I am new to streams so sorry for the stupid question. Thanks in advance too :slight_smile:

I am also trying to understand how to use streams. I believe that currently my model is getting much less out of the GPU than it could. (It is hard to understand where the bottlenecks are, but one tipoff is that nvidia-smi reports sm usage of only around 33%.)