Image transformation and interpolation

So I am fairly new to PyTorch and have only experience with training simple neural network architectures so far. Currently I have been thinking if it’s possible to implement affine image transformations (rotation/scaling/translations etc.) and use the MSE for image registration (ultimately calculating the transformation matrix via gradient descent). So there are 2 parts to this that I am not sure how to proceed.

1. The transformation matrix is a pixel-wise operation. Is there a good way to express it as a matrix multiplication for an entire image?
  2. Once part 1 is taken care of, the next step is probably interpolation. I see pytorch has some features such as interpolate (https://pytorch.org/docs/master/nn.html#torch.nn.functional.interpolate) and grid_sample (https://pytorch.org/docs/0.3.0/nn.html#torch.nn.functional.grid_sample). I am not sure if either these fit the use case I have described above. Am I looking at the right things?

Why do you say that the rtansformation matrix is a pixel-wise operation? If there’s an affine transformation on the whole image, it has the form x' = M*x + b, where M and b are uniquely defined over the whole image. Each pixel will have a different result, but that’s only because we feed different inputs…

The way I see your problem, is you want to predict the affine transformation that was applied to an original image, so that you can correct it. Training is easy enough, you take some input images and apply random transforms on it, then predict the various components of the transforms (specifically the M and b from above). However, I don’t know if it makes much sense in general. How do you know what is the original image? Why should the rotated version, for example, be a transformation of the original and not the original itself?