Inconsistent model inference Time

Hi all. I am a graduate student working on a project about Model inference time optimization.
I am using this very simple code snippet to benchmark the inference time of resenet50:

for i, (batch_input, batch_target) in enumerate(data_loader):
        batch_input_var = batch_input.to(device)
        torch.cuda.synchronize()

# time.sleep(0.2)
        start = torch.cuda.Event(enable_timing=True)
        end = torch.cuda.Event(enable_timing=True)
        start.record()
        with torch.no_grad():
            output = net(batch_input_var)
        end.record()
        torch.cuda.synchronize()
        print(start.elapsed_time(end))

It gives me 10.5ms consistently.

However, if I uncomment time.sleep(0.2), or do something else which takes around 0.05s to 0.2s, the results start to be highly inconsistent, ranging from 12.7ms to 26.1ms. If I set the sleep time to say 2 seconds, the results become consistent again, around 15ms.

Please I am wondering if you have any thoughts on this?

Thanks!

any hope to find help for this?

I haven’t seen this issue before and also cannot reproduce it using a small example model and random input data.
Could you share a code snippet to reproduce this issue and also share your setup information?

Hi @ptrblck Thanks a lot for your response!

I have a minimal script to show this problem at the end.

I am using Python 3.6.9, Pytorch version 1.7.1, I’m using RTX 2080, CUDA version is 11.0, driver version 450.80.02

Script:

import torchvision.models as models
import torch
import numpy as np
import time

if __name__ == '__main__':
    device=0
    net = models.resnet50(pretrained=True).to(device)
    net.eval()

data = np.random.uniform(0, 1, (200, 3, 480, 854))
    label = np.random.randint(0, 100, (200,))
    tensor_imgs = torch.Tensor(data.astype(np.float32))
    tensor_labels = torch.Tensor(label.astype(np.float32))
    dataset = torch.utils.data.dataset.TensorDataset(tensor_imgs, tensor_labels)