IndexError: Target is out of bounds in cross_entropy

Hello, I’m a newbie to ML and I’m training a causal transformer and am trying to compute the cross entropy loss between the logits and the target. However, I am receiving the error

IndexError Traceback (most recent call last)
Cell In[15], line 38
35 print(target.shape)
37 # IndexError: Target 1476 is out of bounds.
—> 38 torch.nn.functional.cross_entropy(logits, target, ignore_index=len(logits)-1)

File /usr/local/lib/python3.10/dist-packages/torch/nn/functional.py:3014, in cross_entropy(input, target, weight, size_average, ignore_index, reduce, reduction, label_smoothing)
3012 if size_average is not None or reduce is not None:
3013 reduction = _Reduction.legacy_get_string(size_average, reduce)
→ 3014 return torch._C._nn.cross_entropy_loss(input, target, weight, _Reduction.get_enum(reduction), ignore_index, label_smoothing)

IndexError: Target 1476 is out of bounds.

Not sure where exactly 1476 the number 1476 is coming from. One guess is that it may one of the token ids (the vocab_size of the T5 tokenizer is in the tens of thousands). But in that case I am unsure why my last dimension is 1024 as opposed to the vocab size.

This is the code which I am running

from transformers import T5Tokenizer, T5Model, AdamW

CONTEXT_LENGTH = 512

tokenizer = T5Tokenizer.from_pretrained("t5-large", model_max_length=CONTEXT_LENGTH)
model = T5Model.from_pretrained("t5-large")

model.train()
optimizer = AdamW(model.parameters(), lr=1e-5)

# Specifying where exactly we apply weight decay
no_decay = ["bias", "LayerNorm.weight"]

optimizer_grouped_parameters = [
    {'params': [param for name, param in model.named_parameters() if not any(nd in name for nd in no_decay)], 'weight_decay': 0.01},
    {'params': [param for name, param in model.named_parameters() if any(nd in name for nd in no_decay)], 'weight_decay': 0.0}
]
optimizer = AdamW(optimizer_grouped_parameters, lr=1e-5)

import torch