Is this a correct implementation for focal loss in pytorch?

Hello, I am new to pytorch and currently focusing on text classification task using deep learning networks. The dataset contains two classes and the dataset highly imbalanced(pos:neg==100:1). So I want to use focal loss to have a try.

I have seen some focal loss implementations but they are a little bit hard to write. So I implement the focal loss(Focal Loss for Dense Object Detection) with pytorch==1.0 and python==3.6.5. It works just the same as standard binary cross entropy loss, sometimes worse. Did I correctly implement it?

Here is the code:

class FocalLoss(nn.Module):
"""
binary focal loss
"""

def __init__(self, alpha=0.25, gamma=2):
    super(FocalLoss, self).__init__()
    self.weight = torch.Tensor([alpha, 1-alpha])
    self.nllLoss = nn.NLLLoss(weight=self.weight)
    self.gamma = gamma

def forward(self, input, target):
    softmax = F.softmax(input, dim=1)
    log_logits = torch.log(softmax)
    fix_weights = (1 - softmax) ** self.gamma
    logits = fix_weights * log_logits
    return self.nllLoss(logits, target)
1 Like

i am also in interested in knowing the implementation of focal loss.it would be great if someone who has implemented it, could help us out here !

You can checkout kornia’s implementation here

its input has shape (batch_size, num_classes, H, W). but i have an input matrix of shape (batch_size, num_classes) and target matrix of same shape (batch_size, num_classes). So i have come up with this…

import torch, sys, os, pdb
import torch.nn as nn
import torch.nn.functional as F

def __init__(self, gamma = 1.0):
        super(FocalLoss, self).__init__()
        self.gamma = torch.tensor(gamma, dtype = torch.float32)
        self.eps = 1e-6

# input are not the probabilities, they are just the cnn out vector
        # input and target shape: (bs, n_classes)
        # sigmoid
        probs = torch.sigmoid(input)
        log_probs = -torch.log(probs)