Issues with tutorial "Installing C++ Distributions of PyTorch"

Good evening everybody,

I’m new to PyTorch and CMake and desperately trying to carry out the tutorial “Installing C++ Distributions of PyTorch”. It has been now 6 hours i’ve been solving problems one after the other.

Now, I’m trying to execute these commands :

"We can now run the following commands to build the application from within the example-app/ folder:

mkdir build
cd build
cmake -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/absolute/path/to/libtorch …
make
"
First, it took me many hours to solve issues with cmake but the right command i had to write is :slight_smile:
“cmake -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=…/libtorch … -Ax64 - DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug”
And it finally seems to work fine
but then when I try
“make”
I just get an error message saying “No target specified and no makefile found. Stopped.”

What am I missing ?

Are you sure the three dots after your path to libtorch are right?
What kind of error messages did you get before changing the cmake command?

You are right, there are only two dots (what is their role by the way ?) (edit: the third one seems to have been added by the forum since there are only two in my text)

Here are the error message when using the basic command line :slight_smile:

CMake Error at D:/Yggdrasil/Programmation/PyTorch/libtorch/share/cmake/Caffe2/public/cuda.cmake:283 (message):
CUDA support not available with 32-bit windows. Did you forget to set
Win64 in the generator target?
Call Stack (most recent call first):
D:/Yggdrasil/Programmation/PyTorch/libtorch/share/cmake/Caffe2/Caffe2Config.cmake:88 (include)
D:/Yggdrasil/Programmation/PyTorch/libtorch/share/cmake/Torch/TorchConfig.cmake:39 (find_package)
CMakeLists.txt:3 (find_package)

The two dots specify the path of your CMakeLists.txt to the parent directory.

I’m not really familiar with Windows, but could you try to add -DCMAKE_GENERATOR_PLATFORM=x64 to your cmake command?

You are right, I should have guessed it for the dots.