Loss.backward when learning both representations and prediction

Hi folks, I’m quite new to Pytorch and am trying to learn a model on top of graph representations. So I have a model that takes in my data, uses a graph neural network to learn representations, then concats the representations (node pairs) and passes these through a linear layer. However, it looks like when i do loss.backward, the layers aren’t being updated at all. I’m wondering if I’m doing anything wrong here? Here’s a short code snippet for clarification in my model’s forward function.

x = self.gcn1.forward(graph_feats, edge_index=edge_index, edge_weight=edge_weight)
        x = F.relu(x)
        x = self.gcn2(x, edge_index=edge_index, edge_weight=edge_weight)
        x = F.relu(x)
        x = self.gcn3(x, edge_index=edge_index, edge_weight=edge_weight)

# Take the d p vectors, and concat them, followed by putting classifier on top 
        stop_num = int(edge_index.shape[1]/2)

node_idx = edge_index.T[0:stop_num]

d_rep = x[node_idx[:,0]]
        p_rep = x[node_idx[:,1]]
        edge_weight_half = edge_weight[0:stop_num].type(torch.FloatTensor).view(-1,1).cuda()

d_p_pair = torch.cat((d_rep, p_rep, edge_weight_half), dim=1)

x = self.lin(d_p_pair)
        y = self.act_lin(x)

Hi,

This looks ok, you don’t use any non-differentiable operation.

You want to make sure that you give all the right parameters to your optimizer.

hey! thanks for responding. I thought so too, but it seems like the gradients aren’t flowing backwards. When i check the model.parameters(), i see all the layers that are present. is there a way to retrieve the weight matrices from each layer and observe them as they are trained?

It also looks like subsetting the features in x is causing this problem. If I don’t do that, the gradients appear to be able to flow. This step appears to be causing the problem and I have no idea why.

# Take the d p vectors, and concat them, followed by putting classifier on top