Loss does not lower, Outputs are all the same

Hi, I’m new to PyTorch and I was trying to create a simple classifier to determine the predominance of each emotional state in a person. My data consists in 32 means of frequency bins from an FFT done on EEG data. Data has 3 labels [1,0], [0,1] and [0.5,0.5] (meaning that the first labels share predominance in the data). I’ve tried various learning rates, EPOCHS, hidden layers and batch sizes. Loss is not lowering during training, and when testing on the training data outputs are all close to [0.5,0.5]. The code is here:

class Net(nn.Module):

def __init__(self):
        super().__init__()
        self.fc1 = nn.Linear(32, 16)
        self.fc2 = nn.Linear(16, 16)
        self.fc3 = nn.Linear(16, 8)
        self.fc4 = nn.Linear(8, 2)

def forward(self, x):
        x = F.relu(self.fc1(x))
        x = F.relu(self.fc2(x))
        x = F.relu(self.fc3(x))
        x = self.fc4(x)

return F.softmax(x, dim=1)

net = Net()

criterion = nn.MSELoss()
optimizer = optim.SGD(net.parameters(), lr=.001, momentum=0.9)

EPOCHS = 2

net.train()
for epoch in range(EPOCHS):
    for X, y in trainset:
        optimizer.zero_grad()
        output = net(X.view(-1, 32))
        loss = criterion(output, y)
        loss.backward()
        optimizer.step()
    print(loss)

Thanks in advance!

For classifier, you want to avoid MSELoss, and use NLL loss instead.

For optimizer, try Adam, it might be better than SGD. If you use Adam, you don’t need to change the parameter such as learning rate, the default one is supposed to be good enough.

Finally, try to use leakyRLU, which is less likely to stuck compared to RLU.

By looking at your architecture, you seem to connect a bunch of linear layers. For your specific domain, such as an emotional state classifier, you might want to search google to find the newest architecture to try. A bunch of linear layers stacked together could be good enough though.