Loss reduction sum vs mean: when to use each?

I’m rather new to pytorch (and NN architecture in general). While experimenting with my model I see that the various Loss classes for pytorch will accept a reduction parameter (none | sum | mean) for example. The differences are rather obvious regarding what will be returned, but I’m curious when it would be useful to use sum as opposed to mean? Does it have an effect on the backprop during training? Or am I really only choosing between a large loss value or smaller (average) loss value for aesthetic reasons for human readability?

8 Likes

You would not only change the loss scale, but also the gradients:

# setup
model = nn.Linear(10, 10)
x = torch.randn(10, 10)
y = torch.randn(10, 10)

# mean
criterion = nn.MSELoss(reduction='mean')
out = model(x)
loss = criterion(out, y)
loss.backward()
print(model.weight.grad.abs().sum())
> tensor(5.6143)

# sum
model.zero_grad()
criterion = nn.MSELoss(reduction='sum')
out = model(x)
loss = criterion(out, y)
loss.backward()
print(model.weight.grad.abs().sum())
> tensor(561.4255)

I think the disadvantage in using the sum reduction would also be that the loss scale (and gradients) depend on the batch size, so you would probably need to change the learning rate based on the batch size. While this is surely possibly, a mean reduction would not make this necessary.

On the other hand, the none reduction gives you the flexibility to add any custom operations to the unreduced loss and you would either have to reduce it manually or provide the gradients in the right shape when calling backward on the unreduced loss.

9 Likes

Thank you @ptrblck