Memory allocation

Hello, I am totally new to pytorch, so forgive my French … I have a stack trace showing this:

torch.cuda.OutOfMemoryError: CUDA out of memory. Tried to allocate 446.00 MiB (GPU 0; 14.54 GiB total capacity; 753.56 MiB already allocated; 246.56 MiB free; 930.00 MiB reserved in total by PyTorch) If reserved memory is >> allocated memory try setting max_split_size_mb to avoid fragmentation. See documentation for Memory Management and PYTORCH_CUDA_ALLOC_CONF

My GPU has 14.54GB, so where does this go wrong? I must say I am using the app in a docker container, are there any known limitation there maybe?

Any help/info highly appreciated! Thanks!

Ronald

Check if any other application is using memory and could cause the OOM issue.

Hi Ptrblck,
Yes there was, killed it solved it. But suppose you have 2 containers trying to share the GPU capabilities, how do you manage the congestion? Thanks!
Ronald

Tx and yes, there was, but assume we have two containers rtying to share the CPU, how do you cope with congestion in respect to the available GPU resources?

Ciao!

You could limit the available device memory for each process via torch.cuda.set_per_process_memory_fraction(fraction, device=None).

Hmmz, tx, but would that mean that you need to kinda statically divide the memory over the processes and do the assignment per container/process? Looks like the only alternative. That renders the containerization less flexible…

Yes, you would define the limit per process. How else would you handle it? You could just use the default and allow all processes to allocate the entire memory but would then run into the original issue.

Got it, they are unaware of each other. Tx man!

last question, when the python is finished and waiting for new work, can I in the meantime ‘release’ the GPU? I am now in a waiting loop waiting for user input, so in this period I 'd rathther free up the gpu. Is there some statement for that? Thxnks!