Memory management DataLoader, optimization and realted stuff

Hi,

I’ve been using PyTorch (Lightning) almost for a year. However, I have little knowledge about CS things (processes, threads, etc.).

Since now, my way of optimizing training time is None and my reasoning is as simple as: more data = more time, more parameters = more time. I wolud like to know how pytorch works with a bit more detail so I can use it optimally, any recomendation for this is welcome. Following this idea, I wolud like to know more details about some things.

• In GPU training, the dataloader fetches the data from disk, RAM or from where?
  • If the data is transformed, for example with MONAI, torchIO ot torchvision, this transformations happen every epoch?
  • If I transfer data between devices in preprocessing steps with things like monai.transforms.ToDevice, which is basically an enhaced wrapper for to() this will be time-consuming?
  • In multi-GPU training, do I need to adjust my batch size so batches can fit in each GPU or the batch is splitted across GPUS and I can make it bigger?
  • Is there any way to visualize or keep track of the processes created by dataloader? The motivation for this question is that if is set num workers=8 I wolud like to see the eight processes in something like Linux htop.
  • Don’t kill me for asking that, what is rank_zero and why should I know more about it?
  • What is automatic mixed precision and why should I use it/know more about it?

PD: any reference, resource, eplanation, exercise or advice for optimizing training is welcome, thanks.

Generally, I would recommend to take a look at the performance guide if you are trying to optimize your code.

I’ll also try to answer the questions in a general PyTorch setup, as I’m not deeply familiar with Lightning and guess that it might try to optimize the code for you in some of their utils.