Multiclass Classification in Recommender system

I am trying to build a recommender system that predicts an output class which is categorical in nature. I have implemented the same for the movie ratings database where I convert the dataset into a matrix with the rows representing user id, columns representing movie ids and values are ratings.

The problem I face is useing multiclass output labels, I want to understand how can I use the matrix after one hot encoding the variables? Will I need to create two separate matrices?

For a multiclass setting you usually use nn.NLLLoss+ nn.LogSoftmax or nn.CrossEntropyLoss with logits as criteria.
Both loss functions need a target tensor containing class indices, not a one-hot encoded matrix.
Have a look at the docs for more information and an example of the usage.

Hi ptrblck,

Thanks for your response. I am fairly new to deep learning, even though I went to the documentations as suggested by you I was having trouble understanding the same. Could you point me towards a more practical implementation if possible?

Moreover, I’ll just give you the context of my dataset. I basically have 3 columns in my dataset: user_id, movie_id, and review. Review column is my target output which has 6 classes in it.

I am trying to build an autoencoder which is able to predict the output class for a movie.

I understand the criterion you mentioned and will be able to implement the same, however, much of my doubt revolves around the correct data preprocessing to achieve the same.

Looking forward to your response.

Best,
S

The simplest possible approach would be to use something like this. However the loss-function @ptrblck suggested has been used here.

I’m not sure, how to pre-process your data as it seems you just have ids as your input.
Also, do you want to use the latent vector of your autoencoder for classification?

Do you have a starter code or do you need one?