Need Help Troubleshooting CNN Implementation

Hello!

I’ve been working on an implementation of a paper titled “Deep Learning-Based Crack Damage Detection Using Convolutional Neural Networks” by Cha et al. for a couple of days now. In the paper they find some very high accuracy rates, but I have not managed to come even close to those. I’d like some help troubleshooting since I am still pretty new to pytorch.

The proposed CNN is described by this diagram and table:

screenshot

The paper uses a data set of 40.000 images, of which 32.000 training and 8.000 validation. Of these, the ratio between images with cracks and without cracks is 1:1. Images are cropped to 256x256.
Some other given values are:

• Weight decay: 0.0001
  • Momentum: 0.9
  • Minibatch size: 100 (out of 40K)
  • Dropout rate: 0.5
  • Learning rate: Starts at 0.01 and logarithmically decreases (I haven’t been able to implement this)

SGD is used for the optimizer.

My network looks like the following:

class Net(nn.Module):

def __init__(self):
        super(Net, self).__init__()
        self.C1 = nn.Conv2d(in_channels=3, out_channels=24, kernel_size=20, stride=2)
        self.P1 = nn.MaxPool2d(kernel_size=7, stride=2)
        self.C2 = nn.Conv2d(in_channels=24, out_channels=48, kernel_size=15, stride=2)
        self.P2 = nn.MaxPool2d(kernel_size=4, stride=2)
        self.C3 = nn.Conv2d(in_channels=48, out_channels=96, kernel_size=10, stride=2)
        self.C4 = nn.Conv2d(in_channels=96, out_channels=2, kernel_size=1, stride=1)

# The final layer is a softmax layer
        self.Softmax = nn.Softmax(dim=1)

self.BN1 = nn.BatchNorm2d(24)
        self.BN2 = nn.BatchNorm2d(48)
        self.BN3 = nn.BatchNorm2d(96)

self.ReLU = nn.ReLU()

self.Dropout = nn.Dropout2d(0.5)

def forward(self, x):
        # Going to take it step by step here to be able to check the values between layers
        # This is the order of layers specified in table 1.
        x = self.C1(x)
        x = self.BN1(x)