Nll_loss error: "only batches of spatial targets supported, but got targets of dimension 1"

Hi all,

I’m attempting to train a network on a large dataset of 64 x 64 images (~100,000 in total) using a simple ReLu model. I’m very new to both neural networks and PyTorch in general, so please bear with me.

My network appears to initialize and evaluate properly – my error arises when I attempt to call the nll_loss function in my validation method.

Here is the structure of my network:

# create neural net
import torch.nn as nn

import torch.optim as optim

class Net(nn.Module):
  def __init__(self):
    super(Net, self).__init__()
    self.fc1 = nn.Linear(64, 100) 
    self.fc2 = nn.Linear(100, 50)
    self.fc3 = nn.Linear(50, 10)

def forward(self, x):
    # x = x.view(x.size(0), -1)
    x = F.relu(self.fc1(x))
    x = F.relu(self.fc2(x))
    x = self.fc3(x)
    return F.log_softmax(x)

And here is my validation method:

#validate net

def validation():
  network.eval()
  validation_loss = 0
  correct = 0
  with torch.no_grad():
    for data, target in validation_loader:
      output = network(data)
      validation_loss += F.nll_loss(output, target, size_average=False).item() #ERROR IS HERE, ISSUE WITH TARGET DIMENSION
      pred = output.data.max(1, keepdim=True)[1]
      correct += pred.eq(target.data.view_as(pred)).sum()
  validation_loss /= len(validation_loader.dataset)
  validation_losses.append(validation_loss)
  print('\nValidation set: Avg. loss: {:.4f}, Accuracy: {}/{} ({:.0f}%)\n'.format(
    validation_loss, correct, len(validation_loader.dataset),
    100. * correct / len(validation_loader.dataset)))

The precise details of the error I get are:

RuntimeError                              Traceback (most recent call last)
<ipython-input-17-fe7e33c67fb7> in <module>()
----> 1 validation()
      2 for epoch in range(n_epochs):
      3   train(epoch)
      4   validation()
      5 test()

1 frames