Normalization of input image

I am a beginner to pytorch here. As I read the tutorial, I always see such expression to normalization the input data.

transforms.Normalize((0.5, 0.5, 0.5), (0.5, 0.5, 0.5))]) 

However, if I understand correctly, this step basically do

input[channel] = (input[channel] - mean[channel]) / std[channel]

according to the documentation.

So the question is, in order to normalize an input image, why we just say the mean and std is 0.5 and 0.5? Shouldn’t we first calculate the mean & std of one whole image and then use that value to normalize? I mean, it doesn’t have to be the case that every image has the same mean and std. Do I miss something here?

Any comments and idea are highly appreciated! Thank you!

3 Likes

Well, yeh. You have to compute it or find it. For imagenet you can just google those numbers but if you work with a custom dataset it’d be good you to compute it.

1 Like

Sorry, I am a beginner here. Maybe I am asking silly questions. Could you please tell me how to pass the sample-dependent mean and std to the transforms.Normalize(mean=, std=)]? Because what I find is all like assigning a fixed value for it. But how can I pass the specific data point and its np.mean() and np.std() to the transforms.Normalize?

Oh sorry for the confusion. It’s not sample-dependent but dataset-dependent. For example here you can find the parameters for imagenet. In short people computes an average of all the images of the dataset (assuming you are working with pictures and no other kind of data)

in lines 195-196 provided for torchvision models.

normalize = transforms.Normalize(mean=[0.485, 0.456, 0.406],
std=[0.229, 0.224, 0.225])

You may find this interesting

1 Like

Oh, I see!
Yes, that’s my mistake. Thank you!

Hi. May I ask, how to define the mean value and std value for each image channel? My dataset consists of the natural staellite images, just use 0.5? Or compute the mean and std value for each channel of each image?