One dimension deconvolutions or fully connected layers?

I’ve created a variational autoencoder to encode 1-dimensional arrays. The encoding is done through 3 1d-convolutional layers. Then, after the sampling trick, I reconstruct the series using 3 fully connected layers. Here are my questions in case some can shed some light on it:

I think it would be better if I use 1d-deconvolutional layers instead of fully connected, but I cannot understand precisely why.

• It’s because it would bring better results? But then, if the FC layer is complex enough should be able to archive the same results, right?
  • It’s because would be more efficient? This is, would get the same results as a complex enough FC layer but with less training and parameters?
  • Or it’s because of other reasons that I’m missing.

Thanks.

Hello, I’m no expert about 1d-convolutions but let’s give it a go.

For dealing with image data there has been a shift away from using fully connected layers and replace them with conv layers. One reason for this is that the conv has spatial awareness the fully connected layers lack.

The same goes for one dimension. If you use 1d-deconv you keep the spatial awareness throughout the network. If you use fully connected layers these connections get influenced from everywhere and I’m guessing it could confuse the network. In essence, I believe it’s easier to fuck up -> harder to train.

Would love to hear back if you find some other explanation :smiley:

Yes, sure. Let’s see what people say. I’m quite sure it is about efficiency, because according to the theory deep learning should be able to approximate any function. Despite this, I do not know if deconvolutions can archive that faster that fc, or prone less to get stack in a sub-optimal minima. I guess they are a world by itself.