One-to-one LSTM input format unclear, undocumented `threshold()` argument error

Hello everyone, I’m new to PyTorch and am having some issues with a simple LSTM.

What I am trying to do is create an LSTM that will accept a 2-element tensor during inference, update its internal state, and return a single number (or a 1-element tensor). During inference, I will never be providing sequences, only data one element at a time. I assume this is a fairly common use case.

However, I am using sequences for training. I am providing an x tensor of the format (20, 1, 2), where 20 is the sequence length, 1 is the batch size, and 2 is the 2-element input tensor. y is similarly (20, 1, 1) because the output is 1 single element. What I expect to happen is that it will train one element at a time.

Is this a correct assumption? The other possibility is that you train with an entire sequence as input and the single next element as output, but that does not really work since the inputs and outputs are completely different data types. My use case is not like language translation, in which many inputs are translated into many different outputs, nor is it like predicting the next single letter in a sentence. Rather, I am using sequences of line equations (two elements of the form y=mx+b) as x, and using corresponding sequences of steering angles (for a self-driving car) as y. I may be doing this in the wrong way, please correct me as I am new to PyTorch and LSTMs (but not to machine learning).

I have attempted to fairly simply implement the above idea as follows, in Python 2. (The data loading code is obviously different in my real code, but the essence is the same).

import torch

from torch import autograd, nn, optim

# Create random training data
x = autograd.Variable(torch.randn(20, 1, 2))
y = autograd.Variable(torch.randn(20, 1, 1))

# Create a model and use the mean squared error loss function with the Adadelta optimizer
model = nn.Sequential(