Online PyTorch Installer Failure

I am new to PyTorch and wanted to install it on my Windows 10 64-bit workstation. I proceeded to use the online tool to generate the following command in my case:

pip3 install torch torchvision torchaudio --extra-index-url https://download.pytorch.org/whl/cu117

After issuing this command, I obtained the following cryptic failure response:

Looking in indexes: …, https://download.pytorch.org/whl/cu117
ERROR: Could not find a version that satisfies the requirement torch (from versions: none)
ERROR: No matching distribution found for torch

However, looking manually in the torch link list, I found the following distribution file that seems to fit the bill in my case:

torch-1.13.1+cu117-cp39-cp39-win_amd64.whl

Can anyone explain why this happened in my case? Along these lines, I have a question to ask: When issuing the pip3 install command above, is my workstation checked out with respect to components (CUDA, Python) and their versions (12.0.0 and 3.11.1) before the install takes place? And if so, when will PyTorch become compatible with my versions since I do want the latest for these general components?

Any assistance here for this beginner would be much appreciated…

chaosdoc

You are pointing to a Python3.9 build in torch-1.13.1+cu117-cp39-cp39-win_amd64.whl while you are using Python3.11, which is not supported for Windows.
At least I cannot find any 1.13.1+cu117 build with cp311 for Windows in the linked URL.

No and yes. PyTorch will not use your locally installed CUDA toolkit unless you are building from source or a custom CUDA extension. You will only need a properly installed and working NVIDIA driver to install and execute the PyTorch binaries. Thus the pip install command doesn’t care which CUDA toolkit you are using and will install its own runtime dependencies.
However, the used Python version is important and pip will fail as seen in your case.