Optimizing based on another model's output

Hi sorry I’m new to Pytorch: if I have Model1 producing some output, which is fed into Model2 (which is pre-trained), is there a simple way to optimize Model1’s weights based on Model2’s outputs? I could of course just backprop through Model2 into Model1, but I want to assume Model2 is not accessible to Model1 other than it’s outputs.

If I do:

for p in Model2.parameters():
    p.requires_grad = False

Does that have the desired effect? - Model2’s weights and gradient are not accessible to Model1 during backprop

2 Likes

Hi,

If I understand properly, you have this:

input = # ...
out1 = Model1(input)
out2 = Model2(out1)
loss = LossFunc(out2)

If you want to optimize the parameters of Model1, you can just use loss.backward() and create your optimizer to only update the first model with optimizer = torch.optim.SGD(Model1.parameters(), other_args). That way, Model1 will be updated but not Model2.

Note that whatever you’re gonna do, to be able to get gradients for Model1, you will have to backpropagate through Model2 (this is how backprop works).

4 Likes

Thanks very much! Are there any gradient estimation techniques I could use then, if assume I don’t have access to Model2’s internals?

If Model2 is completely unknown, then you have to start using “Black Box Optimization”. Which is a branch of optimization that studies the optimization of functions for which you have absolutely no information (you can just evaluate them). Unfortunately the quality of these approaches is worst (as expected) compared to problems where you have informations about the internal of your function.

1 Like

Fantastic thank you, last question - is there an easy method to pass this gradient approximation to Model1? i.e. combine the approximated gradient of Model2 and then continue with real backprop for Model1?

These methods are not really implemented in pytorch so there is no builtin way.