Pertained C3D model for video classification

Hi all,
I want to extract video features. Is there a pre-trained C3D (https://arxiv.org/abs/1412.0767) network available?.
Thanks

2 Likes

Hi, Gkv,

There are more advanced I3D and P3D pytorch impementations.

P3D: Learning Spatio-Temporal Representation with Pseudo-3D Residual,ICCV 2017

I3D: Quo Vadis, Action Recognition? A New Model and the Kinetics Dataset, CVPR 2017

3 Likes

Hi zhanghaoinf,
Thanks for your kind reply. I am very new to pytorch. Can you provide some links that tell how to use these kinds of implementations in my pytorch code. (I know how to load models using torchvision.models).
Thanks

I have tested P3D-Pytorch. itโ€™s pretty simple and should share similar process with I3D.

1. Pre-process: For each frame in a clip, there is pre-process like subtracting means, divide std.
    An example:

import cv2
mean = (104 / 255.0, 117 / 255.0 ,123 / 255.0)
std = (0.225, 0.224, 0.229)
frame = cv2.imread(โ€œa string to image pathโ€)
frame /= 255.0 # [0, 255] โ†’ [0, 1]
frame -= mean # subtract means
frame /= std # div std
frame = frame[:, : , (2, 1, 0)] # covert BGR image to RGB image

1. A clip is a stack of frames with frame size H x W x 3 and clip size T x H x W x 3
    since P3D requires input in form of 3 x T x H x W, perform:

clip = clip.permte(3, 0, 1, 2).contiguous()

1. Load P3D model
    (P3D, Bottleneck, p3d_model_path can be found in the mentioned github.)

model = P3D(Bottleneck, [3, 8, 36, 3], modality = โ€˜RGBโ€™)
p3d_weights = torch.load(โ€œa string to p3d model pathโ€)[โ€˜state_dictโ€™]
model.load_state_dict(p3d_weights)
out=model(data)
print(out.size(),out)

2 Likes

Hi,
Thanks a lot for your fast reply. One more doubt, what are these modalities (RGB and Flow)?
Thanks

RGB modality refers to frames which are directly filmed by camera.
Flow refers optical flow that calculated between adjacent frames, which reflect motion information.