Predicting shorelines using a LSTM

Hello, as part of my final thesis I want to train a neural network for predicting the shorelines in aereal images using an LSTM. I am pretty new to PyTorch, so I am also using this project to learn from scratch.

The idea of using an LSTM is because I have a low number of samples for the dataset, so I am using the columns of the image as input of the LSTM, where the pixel labeled as shoreline is the target output for the neural network. In the end, I have a dataset of 8 images for training, but every image has near 700 columns, so I end up with 5600 columns to train the network.

I have researched about the application of LSTM networks for this use case, but I can’t find very much information about this, so I am testing some architectures and looking how they perform.

Right now, I’ve defined my neural network like this:

class BiLSTM(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, input_size, hidden_size, num_classes, num_layers):
        super(BiLSTM, self).__init__()
        self.hidden_size = hidden_size

self.lstm = nn.LSTM(input_size=input_size, hidden_size=hidden_size, num_layers=num_layers, bidirectional=True)
        self.hidden2line = nn.Linear(hidden_size*2, 128)
        self.line2class = nn.Linear(128, 1)
        self.relu = nn.ReLU()

def forward(self, input_col):
        lstm_out, (hn, cn) = self.lstm(input_col.float())
        out = self.hidden2line(lstm_out[-1, :])
        out = self.relu(out)
        out = self.line2class(out)
        return out

def backward(self, loss):
        loss.backward()

The input is a column (In LAB color space), and the output is a number that corresponds with the Y point where the shoreline is.

I am using MSE loss, and a learning rate of 0.0001, but I’ve tested with 0.001 and 0.00001 too, and the result if I need more or less epochs to get good results.