Pytorch Coding Conventions

Hello everybody,

I am new to PyTorch, and I am looking for some PyTorch Coding Conventions or Best Practices. PyTorch is fantastic to allow you a lot of freedom, but it can sometimes be challenging to find something in someone else code when they have a completely different way of coding with PyTorch. There might also be some best practices to ensure your code can run as fast as possible.

I am thinking about something similar to Serialization semantics but describing more straightforward cases such as in which context should one create a separate module to define a part of a model and the way it should be structured.

The goal is that anyone who knows the coding conventions can easily find what they are looking for in the code and extend it in a way other people will be able to understand it quickly too.

Thanks for your time,

5 Likes

https://pytorch.org/tutorials/

1 Like

@klory thank you for your answer but it doesn’t answer my question.

I found something closer to what I am looking for here:

But still looking for other documents.

7 Likes

I don’t think, there are some documents like that (at least not official ones), but if you go by python, I’d recommend you to follow the PEP 8 style as this mostly applies to pytorch as well. There are a few pytorch specific things, I’d append:

• don’t use autograd of not necessary (use with torch.no_grad() if possible)
  • only push tensors to GPU, if they are actually needed
  • try to avoid loops over tensor dimensions (slows things down)
  • try to free graphs as soon as possible (use detach or item whenever you can) to avoid memory leaks

If there’s anything coming up to my mind, I’ll just edit this post.

5 Likes

PEP8 (PyTorch uses flake8 for coding style itself) is a good idea, as is the general Python Zen. Don’t write Python like people who don’t like Python.

However, a couple of the PyTorch-specific items I disagree with (in the top two below). My list would be something like: