PyTorch Regression Issues: Shuffle and Higher Input Powers

Hello there!

I am new to ML and PyTorch and looking forward to a plenty of interesting discussions in this forum with you guys.

I got stuck into a regression problem for a while. I want my network to learn the relation s(V) between the input vectors V and the target scalar s. s(V) is a very elaborate function of V without constant summands,

Formula_1

I am given several training and test sets. Until now, I worked with the easiest training and test set. Here the entries of V are small enough to consider s(V) to be linear in V and this simple feed-forward network did the job (with dim=64):

class MyNetwork(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self):
        super(MyNetwork, self).__init__()
        self.lin1 = nn.Linear(dim, 128, bias=False)
        self.lin2 = nn.Linear(128, 32, bias=False)
        self.lin3 = nn.Linear(32, 1, bias=False)
    def forward(self, x):
        return self.lin3(F.relu(self.lin2(F.relu(self.lin1(x)))))

There are two major problems that I cannot solve on my own:

Problem 1:
I could achieve an error (standard deviation of the distribution of relative errors over all batches of the test set) of less than 4% within two to three epochs, which is nice, but only when having shuffle in the DataLoader disabled (the training set is uniform and ordered with respect to s). If I set shuffle=True, the smallest errors I get are around 16%, which is miserable. By altering the batch size, learning rate and weight decay I could not solve this problem. Of course, there could be some better combinations of these quantities that I oversee in my manual random search. Unfortunately I have absolutely no clue why that happens.

Question 1 (very general):