PyTorch Wavenet Model loss is not decreasing (Help)

I’m a college student trying to implement Wavenet using PyTorch, this is my first time writing custom modules for a model in PyTorch and I’m having a problem with my model in that it won’t train. Essentially the project is this: I have a set of wav files that I am reading in, processing and quantizing as in the Wavenet paper, and am arranging into series of 1024 data points (the model takes a series of 1024 amplitudes from the wav as input and should output a tensor of 256 values describing the probability that the next item in the series is one of those 256 values).

I’m currently trying to train the model on a single music file, hoping to get it to overfit so that I can be sure that it actually learns from the data. Here lies the problem: the loss won’t decrease as I train. I’ve tried making the model smaller, changing the loss function, changing what kind of layer the output layer is, and making the learning rate larger but nothing seems to work.

I suspect that the problem is somewhere in the model itself, the way that it is constructed may be wrong. It’s possible that I could have linked the custom modules together with the model in a way that interferes with back propagation, at least that is my best guess. My code for the model and my training code is below. I would really appreciate some help!

#model https://github.com/Dankrushen/Wavenet-PyTorch/blob/master/wavenet/models.py
#https://github.com/ryujaehun/wavenet/blob/master/wavenet/networks.py
#https://medium.com/@satyam.kumar.iiitv/understanding-wavenet-architecture-361cc4c2d623
#https://discuss.pytorch.org/t/causal-convolution/3456/4

import torch
import torch.optim as optim
from torch import nn
from functools import reduce

#causal convolution (citation above)
class CausalConv1d(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, in_channels, out_channels, kernel_size, dilation=1, **kwargs):
        super(CausalConv1d, self).__init__()