Relationship between loss and gradient?

Hello, I’m still fairly new to pytorch, trying to understand autograd. I am using L1 loss to keep things simple, which results in a loss value as expected. But the gradient is not as expected. Using L1 loss in my old framework meant the initial gradients were just output-targets. However pytorch is giving fixed values of .25*direction:

grad_output during backward_hook of top layer with 2 nodes and a batch size of 2:

(Variable containing:
(0 ,0 ,.,.) = 

(0 ,1 ,.,.) = 

(1 ,0 ,.,.) = 

(1 ,1 ,.,.) = 
[torch.cuda.FloatTensor of size 2x2x1x1 (GPU 0)]
,)

Output:

Variable containing:
 0.5952  0.3170
 0.5666  0.6178
[torch.cuda.FloatTensor of size 2x2 (GPU 0)]

Targets:

(Pdb) targets
Variable containing:
 0  1
 0  1
[torch.cuda.LongTensor of size 2x2 (GPU 0)]

Loss is as expected:

(Pdb) (output-targets).abs().mean()
Variable containing:
[torch.cuda.FloatTensor of size 1 (GPU 0)]

(Pdb) loss
Variable containing:
[torch.cuda.FloatTensor of size 1 (GPU 0)]

Initial gradients equal to output - targets corresponds to 0.5 * MSELoss, not to L1Loss.

If you differentiate MSELoss by hand you get 2 * (output - targets).

If you differentiate L1Loss (= abs(output - targets)) with respect to output then you get either +1 or -1 depending on whether output - targets is positive or negative. The fact you see .25 rather than 1 in the actual gradients is because PyTorch takes the average loss per observation, rather than their sum.

1 Like

Ah I see, I guess I did not understand L1 loss. MSE loss seems to be what I was looking for, and I also did not know you had to multiply/divide based on batch size. Thanks!

All the “code a simple neural net” articles that I have seen to date just use output-targets as the initial gradients and don’t explain the correspondance to mse loss.