Relu with leaky derivative

My understanding is that for classification tasks there is the intuition that:
(1) relu activation functions encourage sparsity, which is good (for generalization?) but that
(2) a leaky relu solves the gradient saturation problem, which relu has, at the cost of sparsity.

Is it possible, in PyTorch, to write an activation function which on the forward pass behaves like relu but which has a small positive derivative for x < 0? In other words its forward pass is relu but its backward pass is like that of a leaky relu with some specified leak rate. Of course this breaks the FTC, but that (probably?) doesn’t matter and you would have sparsity + non-saturating gradients if it worked.

I’m relatively new to deep learning, so sorry if this has already been tried. I also don’t have the experience to know if tuning activation functions leads to significant performance gains.

3 Likes

For ad-hoc experimentation with backward not quite equal to forward, the pattern

y = x_backward + (x_forward - x_backward).detach()

works quite well. It get’s you x_forward in the forward, but the derivative will act as if you had x_backward. Stay clear of NaN (and infinity - infinity which is NaN). It’s a tad more expensive than a custom autograd.Function, probably.

Best regards

Thomas

7 Likes

Hi Tom,
Thats great idea! What I was looking for.
Could you please let me know how to use it? I am little confused with x_backward? should this used after the loss.backward()?
please help!

x_backward would correspond to the activation in your forward method, which should be used during the backward pass. In this example, you could define x_backward as the LeakyReLU output and x_forward as the ReLU output.

3 Likes

This should work for what you want, all wrapped up as the activation function ‘non_sat_relu’. The backward leak is set to 0.1, but it could of course be whatever you want.

import torch

class NSReLU(torch.autograd.Function):
    @staticmethod