RuntimeError: CUDA out of memory. Tried to allocate 450.00 MiB

Hello PyTorch-Community,

i am very new to PyTorch and I try to get this Segmentaton Network running on my Notebook with Geforce GTX 1650. I’d be glad if you can give me hints.

The following error occurs:

RuntimeError: CUDA out of memory. Tried to allocate 450.00 MiB (GPU 0; 3.82 GiB total capacity; 2.08 GiB already allocated; 182.75 MiB free; 609.42 MiB cached)

It obviously means, that i dont have enough memory on my GPU. But I dont understand why, because 3.8GB - 2GB - 600MB = 1.2GB free space != 180MB . In similar Questions people say, that this is due to fragmentation. But how does this make sense, i only load a pretrained model to my GPU? Where do the 2GB occupied space come from?

Then I open up nvidia-smi, which makes me wonder even more, as it says that only 10% are occupied:

+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 435.21       Driver Version: 435.21       CUDA Version: 10.1     |
|-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name        Persistence-M| Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp  Perf  Pwr:Usage/Cap|         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
|===============================+======================+======================|
|   0  GeForce GTX 1650    Off  | 00000000:01:00.0 Off |                  N/A |
| N/A   47C    P8     1W /  N/A |    285MiB /  3914MiB |     10%      Default |
+-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+

| Processes:                                                       GPU Memory |
|  GPU       PID   Type   Process name                             Usage      |
|=============================================================================|
|    0      1214      G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                            28MiB |
|    0      1720      G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                           105MiB |