RuntimeError: cuda runtime error (59)

I am new to pytorch and tried to Run a seq2seq model. My code runs well for few batches (around 4 to 5) before I get the following error:

RuntimeError: cuda runtime error (59) : device-side assert triggered at /home/soumith/local/builder/wheel/pytorch-src/torch/lib/THC/generic/THCStorage.cu:76

When I enable cudnn, I get the following error:

cudnn.rnn.forward(self, input, hx, weight, output, hy)
File “/u/kumarkun/.local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/torch/backends/cudnn/rnn.py”, line 241, in forward
w.zero_()
RuntimeError: cuda runtime error (59) : device-side assert triggered at /home/soumith/local/builder/wheel/pytorch-src/torch/lib/THC/generic/THCTensorMath.cu:26

Strangely, the source code line-number that causes the error is different for different runs but
Has anyone encountered such an issue before? Is this a known issue and is there an easy way to fix this?

I would greatly appreciate any pointers.

I had an issue with the embedding layer. I had an index which was greater than the vocab-size. Fixing that resolved the issue. I still don’t understand how the error shown is related to that.

3 Likes

Because of the asynchronous nature of cuda, the assert might not point to a full correct stack trace pointing to where the assert was triggered from.

if you run the program with CUDA_LAUNCH_BLOCKING=1 python script.py
this will help get a more exact stack trace

7 Likes

So I ran into the same error message for a similar reason just now, and I think it makes sense to add in some error handling to catch it. Feel free to skip to the TLDR if you don’t have care for STORYTIME.

STORY TIME!