Save a pytorch model, reload it for transfer learning, but evaluation result is bad

Dear community,
I am a newbie for Pytorch so forgive whatever mistake I could make. here I meet some problem that hopefully, somebody can give some advice,

I am using the Cifar10 data-set and using a partitioner tool to partition the train-loader, I am pretty sure that I am using the same train-loader/test-loader for all the tasks below.
This is what I did:

1. train the model for, say 10 epochs, I get an evaluation accuracy of about 40%. Then I saved the model;
  2. next, load the model from the previously saved datafile, start the training again. On principle, I expect to start with an evaluation accuracy of ~40%. However, instead, I only get something like 15%…
    Note if I train the model from scratch, I would get ~10% evaluation accuracy for the 1st epoch – this is under expectation, but this also indicates my loadfile indeed helps a little, better than a totally random start model.
  • I wonder if I made mistake with the model save/reload? The model save/load functions are pretty simple and follow the PyTorch standard method, as below;
  • The model is trained on the GPU (cuda), after loading the model from the file, I do have the code like the model.to(device)
  • I wrap up the model save function into my model class,
import torch

def import_parameters_from_pt_file(file: str, model):
    '''import a model from python pt file on disk, file_name shall include path'''
    #print(f"load the file: {file}")
    model.load_state_dict(torch.load(file))
    model.eval()
    return model

def save_parameters_to_pt_file(file: str, model):
    '''save a model to python pt file on disk, file_name shall include path'''
    torch.save(model.state_dict(), file)
    print(f"saving the file: {file}")

#in my cifar10 class wrap the model save method:
class cifar10():
    def save_model_to_file(self, file_name: str):
        utl.save_parameters_to_pt_file(file_name, self.model)