Self.scaler.step(self.d_optimizer): AssertionError: No inf checks were recorded for this optimizer

I am new to pytorch and am trying to reduce the consumption usage of GPUs. What I am trying to do is to update the weights manually. In this sense, I am getting the new gradient values. Then, I update the weights as follows:

grads = torch.autograd.grad(
                        d_loss, weights.values(), create_graph=True, allow_unused=True
                    )
weights = OrderedDict(
                        (name, param - grad) if grad is not None else (name, param)
                        for ((name, param), grad) in zip(weights.items(), grads)
                    )

The problem here is that I do need to update the weights without making the gradient to be true, as it increases the GPU consumption usage without a need for it.

When I changed the second line as follows:

with torch.no_grad():
                            for ((name, param), grad) in zip(weights.items(), grads):
                                if grad is not None:
                                    param -= grad 

However, it gives me the following message:

assert len(optimizer_state["found_inf_per_device"]) > 0, "No inf checks were recorded for this optimizer."
AssertionError: No inf checks were recorded for this optimizer

What I do not understand why this even occurs. I just tried to make the updates inplace without a need for the gradient to be true. Any help?

I don’t understand this claim.
There shouldn’t be any difference in GPU memory usage if you calculate the gradients explicitly via torch.autograd.grad or if you allow the backward() call to store these gradients in the .grad attributes of the trainable parameters. In the end you need to store the gradients somewhere, so could you explain which operation uses GPU memory without the need for it?