Seq2seq in Video summarization

I am a Pytorch beginner and I have read the Pytorch seq2seq tutorial for machine translation .I have a Data of (video frames , summary ) pairs used in video summarization. I want to adjust the encoder class in the tutorial to make it take sequence of video frames(each frame is represented as 2048 features extracted from a CNN) instead of a sequence of words as an input. one input sequence is of size(NumOfFrames X 2048). how do i go about doing that ?

thanks in advance

class EncoderRNN(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, input_size, hidden_size):
        super(EncoderRNN, self).__init__()
        self.hidden_size = hidden_size

self.embedding = nn.Embedding(input_size, hidden_size)
        self.gru = nn.GRU(hidden_size, hidden_size)

def forward(self, input, hidden):
        embedded = self.embedding(input).view(1, 1, -1)
        output = embedded
        output, hidden = self.gru(output, hidden)
        return output, hidden

def initHidden(self):
        result = Variable(torch.zeros(1, 1, self.hidden_size))
        if use_cuda:
            return result.cuda()
        else:
            return result

You can do something similar to how the shape of embedded is changed to a 3D tensor so that it can be fed to the LSTM:

One solution is:
input_sequence = input_sequence.view(1, 1, -1)

Another approach is to convert it into a 3D tensor without pushing all the features into a single dimension:

input_seq = input_seq.view(1, num_of_frames, -1)

In this case output will not be squeeze-able to a scalar. So you will have to make some changes in the code structure to accommodate the attention mechanism.

class EncoderRNN(nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, input_size, hidden_size):
        super(EncoderRNN, self).__init__()
        self.gru = nn.GRU(2048, hidden_size)

def forward(self, input):
        # input should be (num_frames, batch_size, 2048)
        output, hidden = self.gru(input)
        return output, hidden

Should work.

Notes: