Sequence multiclass classification

I have a dataset in the size of [88,498,20] which represent 88 samples with the length of 498, each Time-steps will be represent by 20 classes.
My output is [88,498,3] so it’s the same as input only different is now I only have 3 classes to predict.

So this is my first time with Pytorch. With Keras, I just simply create Dense layers , using Categorical_CrossEntropy loss function.

But for Pytorch I tried to create like this :

class MLP(torch.nn.Module):
def init(self):
super(MLP, self).init()
self.dense1 = torch.nn.Linear(20,128)
self.relu = torch.nn.ReLU()
self.dropout = nn.Dropout(0.5)
self.dense2 = torch.nn.Linear(128, 3)
self.softmax = torch.nn.Softmax()

def forward(self, x):
    x = self.dense1(x)
    x = self.relu(x)
    x = self.dense2(x)
    x = self.dropout(x)
    x = self.softmax(x)
    return x

and the training go like this:

model = MLP()
criterion = nn.CrossEntropyLoss()
optimizer = optim.SGD(model.parameters(), lr=0.001, momentum=0.9)
train_losses =
val_losses =

for epoch in range(100):
running_loss = 0.0
optimizer.zero_grad()
outputs = model(x_train)
loss = criterion(outputs, y_train)
loss.backward()
optimizer.step()

But I got this error with the Loss function :

ValueError: Expected target size (88, 3), got torch.Size([88, 498, 3])

So I don’t know what should I configure with the network and how to determine the size of each Linear layers.

nn.CrossEntropyLoss expects raw logits, so you should remove the self.softmax from the forward method.
Assuming your current model output represents: [batch_size=88, seq_len=498, nb_classes=3], you would have to permute the output so that it has the shape [batch_size, nb_classes, seq_len] via output = output.permute(0, 2, 1).
Also the target shape should be [batch_size, seq_len] and it should contain class indices in the range [0, nb_classes-1].

1 Like

Thank you for your answer.
But here I don’t really understand.
First about the input : My first layer is