Should i use nn.BCEWithLogitsLoss() or Cross Entropy loss for segmentation

I am trying to build a simple U-Net for segmentation. The input image as well as the labels has shape (1 x width x height). The pixel values in the label image is either 0 or 1. I am a beginner to deep learning and just started with pytorch so just want to make sure i am using the right loss function for this task. Will it be better to use binary cross entropy or categorical cross entropy for this task? Also, how can i pass weighted values to the loss function such that it gives more weight to the 1 pixels rather than 0 pixels. Thanks!

For a binary segmentation use case you could use nn.BCEWithLogitsLoss and use the pos_weight argument to weight the positive or negative class more.

ok so if i am using nn.BCEWithLogitsLoss, that means i only have one class output. does that mean i only have to pass only value for the pos_weight argument ? and is there a general formula to find out how much weight to give to each class ?

Yes, you should pass a single value to pos_weight. From the docs:

For example, if a dataset contains 100 positive and 300 negative examples of a single class, then pos_weight for the class should be equal to 300/100=3 . The loss would act as if the dataset contains 3 * 100=300 positive examples.

1 Like

Hello Mr. Ptrblck,
Please, how can I determine the value to pass to pos_weight? In my case, all the images contain both background and foreground (positive and negative). However, the number of foreground pixels (positive) is much smaller than that of background pixels (negative). Please, could anyone help me solve it?
Any suggestions or comments would be highly appreciated.