[SOLVED] Make Sure That Pytorch Using GPU To Compute

Hello I am new in pytorch. Now I am trying to run my network in GPU. Some of the articles recommend me to use torch.cuda.set_device(0) as long as my GPU ID is 0. However some articles also tell me to convert all of the computation to Cuda, so every operation should be followed by .cuda() . My questions are:
-) Is there any simple way to set mode of pytorch to GPU, without using .cuda() per instruction?, I just want to set all computation just in 1 GPU.
-) How to check and make sure that our network is running on GPU?, when I am using torch.cuda.set_device(0), I checked using nvidia-smi and I got 0% in volatile GPU. It is different when I am using Tensorflow or caffe which more than 10%. I am affraid that my pytorch still using CPU.
-Thank you-

10 Likes

generally speaking, the pattern is:

• use .cuda() on any input batches/tensors

• use .cuda() on your network module, which will hold your network, like:

class MyModel(nn.Module):
    def init(self):
    self.layer1 = nn. …
    self.layer2 = nn. …
    … etc …

then just do:

model = MyModel()
model.cuda()
20 Likes

How about using torch.set_default_tensor_type('torch.cuda.FloatTensor')?

12 Likes

From the http://pytorch.org/tutorials/beginner/pytorch_with_examples.html#autograd

tutorial it seems that the way they do to make sure everything is in cuda is to have a dytype for GPUs as in:

dtype = torch.FloatTensor
# dtype = torch.cuda.FloatTensor # Uncomment this to run on GPU

and they have lines like:

# Randomly initialize weights
w1 = torch.randn(D_in, H).type(dtype)
w2 = torch.randn(H, D_out).type(dtype)

that way its seems possible to me that one can avoid the silly .cuda line everywhere in your code. Right? Im also new so Im checking with others.

8 Likes

Thanks everyone, your solutions are working well in my case. One reason which makes me really like pytorch is because of discussion forum. It help me a lot!

7 Likes