Thoughts on Proposed Faster Training Plugin

Hi,

I am a university student that is currently developing a Pytorch add-on. The add-on would aim to make models train 70%-90% faster.

However, this speed boost while training comes at the expense of model accuracy (approximately 3%-5%).

I was hoping to open a discussion about people’s thoughts on this proposed framework. More specifically, what people think about the speed vs accuracy trade off.

A model with a 2x throughput for an accuracy loss of 5% sounds like a really interesting use case.
Depending, how your method works, would it be possible to “restore the better accuracy” by disabling your method towards the end of the training?

Unfortunately not. However you can easily build much larger networks to make up for the lost accuracy.

Wouldn’t this slow down the training again and we have the original model back? :slight_smile:
Anyway, I still think it’s an interesting idea and some quantization approaches use exactly this strategy (losing a bit of model accuracy to gain speed).

I suppose you’re right. I didn’t think of that!

But do you think this loss of accuracy would generally be worth the speed boost?

It might depend a bit on your use case and how exactly the method is applied.
E.g. if your method would also speedup the inference (and even on e.g. the mobile platform), this might be a valid “deployment” mode (a lower model accuracy might be acceptable on mobile platforms).

For general training you would have to check how much work implementing your method would be, as even small accuracy drops might scare people from trying out your method. E.g. the quantization accuracy results show a smaller accuracy drop for a similar or higher performance gain.