<tmp.h> missing when running test/run_test.py

I’m a student who’s never contributed to open source before, but I found an open issue that I’d like to submit a fix for! However, when I run the entire test suit using python3 test/run_test.py, I get fatal error: 'tmp.h' file not found.

I looked for the #include <tmp.h> statement, and I found it in test/cpp_extensions/extension.cpp with the comment // test include_dirs in setuptools.setup with relative path. I don’t see the actual tmp.h file anywhere in PyTorch, though. I assume that means it’s somehow created as a temporary file during the build, but I don’t see where in the test code the file should be created.

I can run individual tests, like test/test_jit.py without any problems.

I’ve tried using the zsh shell in VSCode (version 1.47.0) as well as simply opening the zsh in a separate window on my MacBook (macOS Catalina 10.15.5). I followed the PyTorch build instructions exactly, and I didn’t seem to have any problems during the actual installation itself.

Thanks for helping me with such a basic question!

Thanks for taking a shot at a potential bug fix. :slight_smile:

What’s the fix you are working on? Could you post the link to your branch or issue?

Depending what methods you’ve changed in your fix, you might just be able to ignore other test failures.
E.g. if cpp_extensions is failing, while you’ve changed a sentence in the docs, I wouldn’t care too much about it and let the CI run all the tests in its setup.

The issue is here. It seemed like an easy fix to me: If I go into the operator<< override in types.cpp, I can just add/change some logic to create the format suggested in #41772.