Torch.cuda.is_available() is False - CUDA:12.2 - rtx 4070

Machine learning newbie here, stuck on the first step of learning PyTorch of installing CUDA. I’ve been trying to get CUDA working on my system for the past day to no avail. I’ve created multiple environments then tried installing pytorch using the below config of pip and also conda but no of them worked

I’ve tried downloading multiple versions of the cuda toolkit (cuda_12.2.0_536.25_windows.exe and cuda_11.8.0_windows_network.exe) and they both didn’t help. I also tried using conda install cudatoolkit in another environment but that didn’t work as well even though I also instead python-cuda==11.8.

Tbh I don’t really know what versions of one software need what versions of the other software. I am very confused. Like what does the CUDA version mean in nvidia-smi? Is this a driver version? hardware? does it support older version of pytorch-cuda ? or older versions of cuda toolkit? Is CUDA toolkit version supposed to be the same version was my CUDA version in nvidia-smi and pytorch-cuda?

nvidia-msi:
±--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 536.25 Driver Version: 536.25 CUDA Version: 12.2 |
|-----------------------------------------±---------------------±---------------------+
| GPU Name TCC/WDDM | Bus-Id Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan Temp Perf Pwr:Usage/Cap | Memory-Usage | GPU-Util Compute M. |
| | | MIG M. |
|=========================================+======================+======================|
| 0 NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 WDDM | 00000000:01:00.0 On | N/A |
| 0% 31C P8 7W / 200W | 1015MiB / 12282MiB | 1% Default |
| | | N/A |
±----------------------------------------±---------------------±---------------------+

1 Like

You would only need to properly install the NVIDIA driver, not the CUDA toolkit, since PyTorch ships with all CUDA dependencies.