Torch.empty() returns nan

Hi there,

I’m new to pytorch. I wanna create an uninitialized tensor as one of parameters in my model. I haven’t gone to the process of training or backpropagation yet. I just simply created a tensor with torch.empty() but got nan values by chance.

Here is the code and result. I sometimes got nan values inside the tensor sometimes not. It seems that the higher dimensions of size, the more likely to get nan.

u = torch.empty(size=(15,15,15))

torch.sum(u.isnan()==True)
Out[243]: tensor(6)

u = torch.empty(size=(15,15,15))

torch.sum(u.isnan()==True)
Out[245]: tensor(0)

Use torch.sum(u.isnan()==True) to check the tensor, you can see that the first time u has 6 nan values, the second time it doesn’t have nan values at all.

I wonder what is going on there. how can I completely avoid getting nan by creating an uninitialized tensor. If I replace those nan values with a specific value (e.g. zero), will it change the property of “uninitialized tensor” so to affect my model’s training process?

THANKS A LOT!!

This is expected since you are using uninitialized memory for the tensor which may contain any value including NaN.
Initialize tensors via e.g. torch.randn to draw samples from a Normal distribution.

Thank you so much!
My purpose of creating this tensor data is to train it as a parameter (like a weight matrix) in my neural network, I’m still not sure if using torch.randn to initialize the tensor would be OK to train the parameter. (since i saw other people noramlly do torch.empty).
I’ve read the other comments from you about the difference between initialized and unintialized tensor, but still I can’t figure out which function or type of data is proper for my situation.
sorry if it sounds like a stupid question, as I’m new to pytorch and neural network modeling…