Tracking Loss through Parallel Paths

Hello!

I am a bit of a noob here so forgive me if this has a simple answer. For context, I successively implemented a tied weight VAE a few months ago and now I am testing out some other ideas to do with autoencoders. My current model has three parallel paths going through it in an attempt to make three specialized and separate latent spaces.

I am experimenting with how to specialize the latent spaces, but that is not my concern here. This question is specifically about the loss. Right now I have a list of losses (one for each path) and I loop through the losses performing backpropagation for each.

for loss in local_loss_list:
                lossy = loss
                # backpropagation
                optimizer.zero_grad()
                lossy.backward(retain_graph=True)
                # one step of the optmizer (using the gradients from backpropagation)               
                optimizer.step()
                total_loss = total_loss + lossy

I did this automatically without much thought, but now I am concerned. Will the loss from each parallel path backpropagate properly down the correct path? If so how? It seems to work, but I do not understand how the loss is being associated with the correct path of weights.

Thanks!!!

1 Like

Hi,

The autograd computes the gradient for what you give it. So if you backprop for a loss computed with only one branch, it will backprop only that branch.

Note that if you just want to get the sum of the gradients and do a single update, you can do:

lossy = sum(local_loss_list)
# backpropagation
optimizer.zero_grad()
lossy.backward()
# one step of the optmizer (using the gradients from backpropagation)               
optimizer.step()
total_loss = total_loss + lossy