Training the last n layers of a GAN

Hi, I am really new to all this and am working on an assignment with the DCGAN here - DCGAN Tutorial — PyTorch Tutorials 1.8.1+cu102 documentation

I have trained this GAN using a dataset A. I need to train the last N (where N=1, 2, 3 etc) layers of the already trained GAN with dataset B - how can I do this?

So far I have used nn.ModuleList() to extract all the layers and then take the last N to train it but my results are not ideal - is there a different way to do this?

Thanks in advance!

Usually you would freeze the previous layers, which should not be trained, by setting their requires_grad attribute to False and I’m unsure how you are using the nn.ModuleList. Could you explain your current use case of fine tuning the last layers a bit more, please?

Sure thing!

Right now my approach is this (but I am unsure if I am correct):

1. Train DCGAN1 with dataset A
  2. Train DCGAN2 with dataset B
  3. Decide on N aka how many layers from DCGAN1 needs to be retrained by dataset B.
  4. Create two nn.ModuleList() objects - extract from layer 1 to the penultimate layer from trained DCGAN1. Eg: if my DCGAN has 8 layers and I want to “retrain” the last 3, I would take layers 1-5 from this GAN and store it in the first list.
  5. In the second list, take the last N layers from the trained DCGAN2 and store them.
  6. Combine both lists and declare a new Generator and Discriminator by iterating over this combined list.

Hope this makes sense.

In your answer, do you mean that if I have a trained DCGAN on say the MNIST dataset and I want to retrain the last N layers on the EMNIST dataset I could freeze the prev layers by setting requires_grad to False and then retrain this “frozen” GAN on the EMNIST set?

I apologize for the lengthy response, thank you for responding to my query - appreciate it!

Thanks for the explanation.