Trouble getting probability from softmax

I am trying to get a confidence from a model after giving it one sample to test. I am very new to this so I am not sure what I am doing. I read somewhere that I should use softmax to get a probability/confidence. I am using code from another implementation that doesn’t get the probability, it just returns a 1 or a 0. I am using Pytorch 3.0

Here is my code:

for batch_idx, (x, y) in enumerate(dataloader): #comprised of one sample
        x = Variable(x.cuda())
        y = Variable(y.cuda())

# forward pass
        y_model = model(x)

# loss pass
        loss = loss_fct(y_model, y).mean()

# predict pass
        _, predicted = torch.topk(y_model, k=1)
        correct = predicted.data.eq(y.data.view_as(predicted.data)).cpu().sum()

# metrics
        total_loss += loss.data[0] * len(y)

total_correct += correct
        total += len(y)

print("{} set for {} {}: Average Loss: {:.4f}, Accuracy: {:.2f}%".format(
            "Test", "benign", "null?", total_loss / total,
                               total_correct * 100. / total))

I am not sure what a lot of this code means, or why it was used. The code was originally taken from here:

How to I feed the model the sample, which I assume is the variable “y” and get the confidence.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

You could apply softmax on the output of your model, if it’s raw logits. Try to call F.softmax(y_model, dim=1) which should give you the probabilities of all classes. Could you check the last layer of your model so see if it’s just a linear layer without an activation function?

2 Likes

Here’s how my network looks like:

Sequential(
  (0): Linear(in_features=22761, out_features=300, bias=True)
  (1): ReLU()
  (2): Linear(in_features=300, out_features=300, bias=True)
  (3): ReLU()
  (4): Linear(in_features=300, out_features=300, bias=True)
  (5): ReLU()
  (6): Linear(in_features=300, out_features=2, bias=True)
  (7): Softmax()
)