Two tensors produced from the '@' operation are not eqaul under the measurement of '.eq()'

Hi, I’m quite new to PyTorch and I came cross the ‘@’ operation, which does matrices multiplication for the last two dimensions. (referrence: How does the @ sign work in this instance?).

As far as I understand, given two tensors A (bsz, d1, d2), and B (bsz, d2, d3), (A@B)[i] should equal to (A[i])@(B[i]); thus, these two results from ‘@’ should be identical when call the ‘.eq()’ measurement (a simple code exmaple is shown below with i=0).

import torch
torch.set_printoptions(profile="full")

A = torch.rand(16, 3, 40)
B = torch.rand(16, 40, 3)

C = (A@B)[0]
D = (A[0])@(B[0])

print('C=(A@B)[0] is:')
print(C)
print('D=(A[0])@(B[0]) is:')
print(D)
print('C.eq(D) is:')
print(C.eq(D))

However, what I got from the ‘C.eq(D)’ line was not as I expected to be all ‘True’, and the printed values of C, D are identical as I expected.
RK7W83FM%`IHT%VP$}OBFU
I understand comparing the values with our raw eyes is not the best way to decide whether two tensors are equal, but the results of ‘.eq()’ is really confusing.

And I find that when I declare A, B to be integers, C=(A@B)[0] always equals to D=(A[0])@(B[0]) under ‘.eq()’ measurement, so here are my questions:

1. why C.eq(D) is not all ‘True’ when declaring A, B to be float? And is all ‘True’ if A, B declared as integers?

2. Regarding Q1, I suspect it has something to do with the datatypes, however I can’t find anything related to this difference on PyTorch Docs, help on this perspective is very much appreciated!

3. Regaiding Q3, if the ‘.eq()’ behaviour is caused by the nature of datatype float vs. integer, why the printed values, shown in the picture, are the same from raw eye observation (especially after I called: torch.set_printoptions(profile=“full”))?

I’m using PyTorch 1.12.0 and thanks in avdance!

Hi Alex!

Because of floating-point round-off error, this will not be true in general.