Unable to allocate more than 7 out of 8 GB RAM on RTX 2070

Hello,

newbie here in dire need of help.

The problem
I just got a brand new RTX 2070 8 GB and while it’s certainly fast, I don’t seem to be able to utilize its entire memory capacity. I’ve noticed this while running models but realized I need a more objective way to test it.

What I’ve tried
I made a tiny Jupyter notebook in which I create tensors of a given size on the GPU. This way I can precisely check how much memory I can use. To make the example below clearer, let me just mention that I also have a GTX 1060 6 GB and I’m running Windows 10. I’ve replicated the problem on both the nightly and stable versions of PyTorch 1.0 CUDA 10.

The approach was to find the maximum tensor size that fits on each card and see if I can fill the RAM memory this way. I’m printing some CUDA memory metrics but since I’m fairly (make that extremely) new to this I’m also monitoring GPU memory usage on both cards using GPU-Z. The 1060 is the primary card and usually has about 810 MB RAM occupied. The 2070 only has 4 MB RAM occupied.

import torch

def device_info(device):
    # Just for showing info
    device_name = torch.cuda.get_device_name(device)
    print(f"Info on {device_name}")
    print(f"CUDA capability {torch.cuda.get_device_capability(device)}")
    print(f"Maximum GPU memory usage by tensors on {device_name}: {torch.cuda.max_memory_allocated(device)/1e9} GB")
    print(f"Current GPU memory usage by tensors on {device_name}: {torch.cuda.memory_allocated(device)/1e9} GB")
    print(f"Maximum GPU cached memory usage on {device_name}: {torch.cuda.memory_cached(device)/1e9} GB")
    print(f"Current GPU cached memory usage on {device_name}: {torch.cuda.max_memory_cached(device)/1e9} GB\n\n")    

print(f"Using cuDNN version {torch.backends.cudnn.version()}")
# n_2070 = int(1.69605e9) # Does not work and produces amusing reason for not working
n_2070 = int(1.696e9) # Maximum size that works
n_1060 = int(1.275e9)