Understanding GPU vs CPU memory usage

I’m quite new to trying to productionalize PyTorch and we currently have a setup where I don’t necessarily have access to a GPU at inference time, but I want to make sure the model will have enough resources to run.

Based on the documentation I found, I have 2 main tools available, one is the profiler and the other is torch.cuda.max_memory_allocated(). The latter is quite straightforward, apparently my model is using around 1GB of CUDA memory at inference.

I’m more interested in when no GPU is available, for this I’m running profiler, and the memory requirements seem massively increased. First of all, am I supposed to sum up the Self CPU Mem rows to get the required memory for inference, or is that memory freed up between layers? How would I go about calculating the actual memory requirements needed for my solution based on the profiler output? For context, we’re running dockerized images on Azure Kubernetes, my image serves a Flask application via gunicorn (I’m planning on moving to pytorch serve later).

My Flask app does this, this is how I’m checking the memory requirements currently:

@torch.inference_mode()
def donut_predict(input_img, task_prompt=TASK_PROMPT):
    global PRETRAINED_MODEL
    if torch.cuda.is_available():
        torch.cuda.reset_peak_memory_stats(torch.device('cuda'))
        PRETRAINED_MODEL.half()
        device = torch.device("cuda")
        PRETRAINED_MODEL.to(device)
    with profile(activities=[ProfilerActivity.CPU],
            profile_memory=True, record_shapes=True) as prof:

output = PRETRAINED_MODEL.inference(image=input_img, prompt=task_prompt)["predictions"][0]
    memory_used = torch.cuda.max_memory_allocated(torch.device('cuda')) / 1024**3  # Convert to GB
    app.logger.info(f"Max CUDA memory used for inference: {memory_used:.2f} GB")
    app.logger.info(prof.key_averages().table(sort_by="self_cpu_memory_usage", row_limit=10))

return output